SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 164

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the recipients of the Texas Exes 2007 Awards for Outstanding Teachers for their exemplary contributions to the cause of education in Texas; and

WHEREAS, The future of Texas depends on its children, who must be fully equipped with the skills needed to successfully meet the challenges that lie ahead in the 21st century; their success would not be possible without the commitment and enthusiasm provided by teachers such as the outstanding 2007 honorees; and

WHEREAS, Suzanne Brown Bardwell of White Oak High School is receiving the Jane Johnson Wilson Teaching Award; Jeanell Lewis Cole of Bridgeport High School is receiving the Gordon Appleman Award; Kay Fluitt of Colleyville Heritage High School, Lucy Mavrokordatos of Hillcrest High School, and Deborah Hernandez Salinas of Del Rio Freshman School are receiving the Lillian B. Rhodes Award; Dimple Sadler of Nacogdoches High School is receiving the Glaxo Award; Constance Kay Bridges of Sandra Day O'Connor High School and Patricia K. O. Rambo of Tahoka High School are receiving the Bernard and Audre Rapoport Award; Dora Daniluk of Mayde Creek High School is receiving the Houston Texas Exes Chapter Award; Judy Heaps of West Mesquite High School is receiving the Mrs. Harold B. Myers Award; Patricia Burkhardt of Oak Crest Intermediate School is receiving the Verna Rogers Award; and Susan Trim of Elkhart Elementary School is receiving the Suzan and Julius Glickman Teaching Award; and

WHEREAS, All of these highly regarded professionals have earned recognition from their peers for their proven ability to capture the imagination and attention of their students, for their instructional expertise, and for their collegial approach; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Exes Awards program is jointly presented by The University of Texas at Austin, its College of Education, and the Ex-Students' Association; as a recipient of the Texas Exes award, each of these educators has achieved a rare distinction that is deserving of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend the recipients of the Texas Exes Awards for Outstanding Teachers and extend to them best wishes for continued success in all their future endeavors; and, be it further

S.R. No. 164

 ${\tt RESOLVED}$, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for these dedicated teachers as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 5, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate