## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 189

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to honor The University of Texas at Arlington Movin' Mavs Wheelchair Basketball Team, who won the 2006 National Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball Tournament; and

WHEREAS, The Arlington team was tied with the Wisconsin-Whitewater team at 51 when the Mavs pulled ahead to defeat Whitewater 53-51 in the last 10 seconds of the game; with this win, the team secured its seventh national title since joining the National Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball Conference in 1989; and

WHEREAS, The Movin' Mavs team features three players who participated in the Paralympic Games in Athens, Greece; since 1989, six team members have been selected as the Most Valuable Player, and 16 team members have been named to the First Team All-American Squad; and

WHEREAS, Movin' Mavs Head Coach Jim Hayes noted that the members of the team played like champions in the semifinal and championship games and did not admit defeat when the team fell behind; Coach Hayes founded the Office for Students with Disabilities at The University of Texas at Arlington and was instrumental in making the campus one of the most accessible in the state; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Movin' Mavs Wheelchair Basketball
Team are stellar athletes who have exhibited exceptional
teamwork and discipline; they can be justifiably proud of their

S.R. No. 189

impressive skills and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore,
be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

80th Legislature, hereby congratulate The University of Texas at

Arlington Movin' Mavs Wheelchair Basketball Team for winning the

2006 National Intercollegiate Wheelchair Basketball Tournament

championship and extend to all best wishes for the future; and,

be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as a token of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Harris, Brimer

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 7, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate