SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 190

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Liberty Hill High School Panthers football team, which recently won the University Interscholastic League 2006 Class 3A Division II state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Panthers captured the first high school state championship in Liberty Hill's school history by defeating Celina High School 22-19; the team held off Celina High School's fourth-quarter rallies, twice stopping them on fourth and one, finally winning the game with a 31-yard field goal with six seconds remaining; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with a 13-2 record; and

WHEREAS, Senior members of the championship team are J. T. Barnes, Brent Bode, Brandon Cardenas, Kyle Crumley, Luis Cruz, Kody Emmert, Gray Lankford, Gio Magallon, Shaun McCallium, Blake Mings, Victor Montes, Daniel Noel, Thomas Perrin, Sammy Post, and Kenny Reeves; and

WHEREAS, Junior and sophomore members of the team are Doug Allman, Clint Gavin, Ryan Gillespie, Dustin Gonzales, Dillon Hanson, Craig Havens, Dylan Holbein, Dillon Hoerster, Jordan Johns, John Miller, Jake Ott, Marlowe Poitier, Cale Rogers, Cole Rogers, Kyle Staton, Josh Simpson, Kyle Troxell, Dillon Vance, Justin Bates, Tyler Cole, Braden Fickel, Cody Lattimore, Ty Roberts, Thomas Stites, and Brandon Terry; and

WHEREAS, The Panthers have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline under the superior leadership and expertise of athletic director and head coach Jerry Vance, assistant athletic director and trainer Charles "Doc" Harrington, offensive coordinator Jeff Walker, defensive coordinator Steve Barnes, and assistant coaches Robert Draper, John Wayne Roberts, Matt Kirschner, Mike Kristan, Anthony Escobar, Brian Herman, Dale Bode, Chad Pirtle, Danny Knowles, Michael Rios, and Justin Goldsmith; and

WHEREAS, The team has benefited from the help of student trainers and assistants Kyla McClain, Shane Child, Courtney Tuttle, Brianda Ojeda, Miranda Perez, Samantha Escamilla, Ashley Pina, Mattie Voigt, Adam Cantrell, Megan Oehrlein, Kallie Perrin, Sam Berg, and Gram Lankford; and

WHEREAS, Liberty Hill citizens are justifiably proud of the Panthers for their hard work, their athletic abilities, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 190

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend the Liberty Hill High School Panthers football team for their successful season and extend congratulations to them on winning the 2006 University Interscholastic League Class 3A Division II state championship title; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Ogden

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 7, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate