SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 194

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to pay tribute to Mrs. Millie Johnson Washington on the grand occasion of her 80th birthday; and

WHEREAS, She was born Millie Johnson in Brazoria on February 18, 1927, the ninth child of Millie and Manson Alphonse Johnson; she received her early education in Brazoria and Angleton; she moved to Houston, where she graduated from Jack Yates Senior High School in 1945; and

WHEREAS, She studied at Hughes Business College and Houston College for Negroes before earning a bachelor's degree and a master's degree in education from Texas Southern University; she taught in the Houston Independent School District for 35 years and was a charter lead teacher in a family math and science program; she continues educating the young people of Houston as a volunteer; and

WHEREAS, Millie volunteers in community and civic groups and in her church; she is a longtime member of Jerusalem Missionary Baptist Church, where she founded and chaired an organization that helps children and senior citizens; and

WHEREAS, She was married to the late Dave McHenry Washington, Sr., for 52 years; they were blessed with six children, Davetta, Levetta, Sandra, Jerome, Ezra Hosea, and Dave, Jr.; she has two grandchildren, Darlan Nicole and Ezra Hosea Washington, Jr., and a chosen grandson, Spencer Joseph Rogers; and

1

S.R. No. 194

WHEREAS, Millie believes in traditional moral values and a strong family structure, which she has instilled in her children and grandchildren; her family will join her in commemorating this special day in her life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby recognize Millie Johnson Washington as a treasured citizen of this state and extend to her best wishes for a wonderful 80th birthday celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as a memento of this special day.

Ellis

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 14, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate