SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 224

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Demetrio Rodriguez, who is being honored by St. Mary's University and the St. Mary's University School of Law at a banquet on February 16 preceding the Sixth Annual Minority Pre-Law Student Symposium for High School and College Students; and

WHEREAS, The symposium is being sponsored by St. Mary's University School of Law in cooperation with all Texas law schools and the Minority Involvement Committee of the Texas Young Lawyers Association; and

WHEREAS, The symposium is being held at St. Mary's School of Law in San Antonio on February 17, 2007; the purpose of the symposium is to introduce minority high school and college students to the many aspects of legal education and legal careers; students will learn about the law school application process, admissions, financial aid, student life, and career options from administrators, faculty, attorneys, and law students; and

WHEREAS, Demetrio Rodriguez was the lead plaintiff in a lawsuit that led to a historic 1973 United States Supreme Court decision regarding the financing of public education in Texas; and

WHEREAS, The banquet held the evening before the symposium will focus on the theme "Chicano Civil Rights: Commemorating San Antonio I.S.D. v. Rodriguez and the Continuing Struggle for Education as a Fundamental Right"; the award ceremony for Demetrio Rodriguez will take place following dinner and a keynote address by Albert Kauffman; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby join St. Mary's University and St. Mary's University School of Law and participants in the Minority Pre-Law Student Symposium for High School and College Students in honoring Demetrio Rodriguez and extend to all best wishes for a successful event; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as a

memento of this special occasion.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 13, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate