SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 256

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Jennifer O'Loughlin-Brooks, who has received the 2006 Texas Professor of the Year award from the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the Council for the Advancement and Support of Education; and

WHEREAS, Professor O'Loughlin-Brooks joined the Collin County Community College faculty in 1995 and became a full-time professor in 2002; she brings excellence to the classroom and is especially noted for her commitment to research and her leadership in the national psychology honor society, Psi Beta; and

WHEREAS, She created and taught the first honors general psychology course at Collin County Community College and helped create the college's first general psychology service-learning philanthropy course; she received the college's exemplary teaching scholarship four times, and she was named Outstanding Professor for the years 2004 and 2006; and

WHEREAS, She earned a bachelor's degree in psychology and speech communications from Texas Christian University in 1991 and a master's degree in experimental psychology from Emporia State University in 1994; she is an associate editor for the Journal of Psychological Inquiry, and her work has been highlighted in the Monitor magazine published by the American Psychological Association; and

WHEREAS, Jennifer is a dedicated and gifted teacher whose teaching has inspired a love of learning in her students and has encouraged them to continue pursuing higher education; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislatuare, hereby commend Jennifer O'Loughlin-Brooks for her exemplary teaching skills and congratulate her on earning the 2006 Texas Professor of the Year award; and, be it further

the 2006 Texas Professor of the Year award; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Shapiro

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 20, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate