## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 292

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the City of Post on the grand occasion of its 100th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1907 by breakfast cereal magnate Charles William Post, the City of Post is located at the headwaters of the Brazos River, east of the Caprock escarpment; Mr. Post envisioned a model city where cultural offerings and the scenic West Texas location would provide a home to families seeking a wholesome lifestyle; and

WHEREAS, Post today is a vital city with a diverse economy; farming, ranching, and the oil industry and a wide array of other businesses have made the city an attractive place to live and raise a family; and

raise a family; and
WHEREAS, Post offers many attractions for visitors,
including the annual Post Stampede Rodeo held in early August;
a nine hole golf course, nestled in a nearby canyon, and
White River Lake and Lake Alan Henry also offer exceptional
recreational opportunities; and

WHEREAS, Three of the original buildings of the city house some of the most outstanding attractions in Post; the Garza Theatre produces eight shows a year, the historic Algerita Hotel is home to the Art Center, which offers several shows and exhibits every year, and the Garza County Museum is located in West Texas' first sanitarium: and

West Texas' first sanitarium; and
WHEREAS, The citizens of Post look forward to the challenges
of the future while continuing to embrace their rich and colorful
history; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend the citizens of Post for their many contributions to the historical and cultural legacy of our state and extend to them best wishes for a happy and joyous centennial celebration; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the citizens of Post as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Duncan

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 20, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate