SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 297

WHEREAS, Three East Texas communities have received the Texas Certified Retirement Community designation from the Texas Department of Agriculture as part of a new statewide initiative to promote rural Texas communities as destinations for retirees; and

WHEREAS, The City of Athens, the City of Lufkin, and Nacogdoches County are the first communities in Texas to earn this recognition, which is available to any Lone Star community that applies for certification and subsequently meets the criteria established by the Department of Agriculture; and

WHEREAS, These safe and secure communities abound with educational and recreational opportunities that make them ideal destinations; they also feature outstanding health care facilities as well as an array of civic and volunteer organizations that promote the welfare of the community; and

WHEREAS, Attracting people to areas that can meet the changing needs of a new generation of retirees will have lasting social and economic benefits for these and other Texas communities, and it is appropriate to recognize the City of Athens, the City of Lufkin, and Nacogdoches County as the Lone Star State's inaugural Texas Certified Retirement Community designees; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby congratulate Nacogdoches County and the Cities of Athens and Lufkin on their selection as the first Texas Certified Retirement Communities and extend best wishes to the many individuals who played a role in this achievement; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the City of Athens, the City of Lufkin, and Nacogdoches County as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Nichols

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 20, 2007.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate