SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 315

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize February 22, 2007, as Texas Community College Day at the Capitol and to extend a warm welcome to the more than 1,000 community college students visiting here today; and

WHEREAS, Community colleges provide access to affordable, quality higher education and play an essential role in making educational opportunities available in our state and in our state's economic development; and

WHEREAS, Participants in this year's Texas Community
College Day include Damian Tovar of El Paso Community College
and other leaders of the Texas Junior College Student Government
Association, students from Texas community college honors
programs and Phi Theta Kappa members, and members of the
Texas Community College Teachers Association and the Texas
Association of Community Colleges; and
WHEREAS, Community colleges constitute the largest segment

WHEREAS, Community colleges constitute the largest segment of higher education in Texas, accounting for more than 47 percent of the state's postsecondary student population, and enrollment in community colleges increases every year; since 2001, there has been a 19 percent increase in enrollment; and

WHEREAS, Community colleges deserve recognition for the vital role they play in the higher education system of our state; now, therefore, be it

now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
80th Legislature, hereby commend our state's community colleges
for their many contributions to their communities and to our
state and extend best wishes to all who are participating in
Texas Community College Day at the Capitol; and, be it further

Texas Community College Day at the Capitol; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the community colleges of Texas and as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 21, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate