SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 326

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the citizens of Waller County who are visiting the State Capitol for Waller County Day; and

WHEREAS, Waller County, in the lower coastal plain of southeast Texas, covers 514 square miles of land from the rolling timbered area in the northern part of the county to the coastal prairie in the south; the county's western boundary is defined by the Brazos River; and

WHEREAS, The area's early settlers in the 1820s were part of Stephen F. Austin's original colony; in April of 1836, during the Texas Revolution, Sam Houston's army briefly camped near the present site of Hempstead, and several camps were established near Hempstead during the Civil War; the historic Liendo Plantation is one of the oldest remaining Civil War landmarks; and

WHEREAS, Waller County was established by the state legislature in 1873 from parts of Austin and Grimes Counties; it was named for Edwin Waller, who was a signatory of the Texas Declaration of Independence, an architect in Austin, and the City of Austin's first mayor; and

WHEREAS, Prairie View A&M University, one of the state's oldest universities, had its beginnings in a school established in 1879, and the institution has played an important role in the history and development of the county; and

WHEREAS, The residents of Waller County can be proud of their county's unique history, its outstanding educational institutions, and the many contributions its citizens have made to the development of Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby extend a warm welcome to the citizens of Waller County who have come to the Capitol this day and recognize with great pleasure February 26, 2007, as Waller County Day at the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as a memento of this special occasion.

Hegar

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 26, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate