SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 332

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Larry Gatlin, Billy Joe Shaver, and Aaron Baker, who have been chosen as the 2007 Texas Heritage Songwriters by the Texas Heritage Songwriters' Association; and

WHEREAS, From the earliest days of Texas history, Texas songwriters have reflected the essence of our culture; from the unknown troubadours of the past to the platinum-selling recording artists of today, these poets and composers have given Texas a distinctive voice in a world too often uniform and commonplace; and

WHEREAS, As Texas Heritage Songwriters, these gifted artists will enhance the knowledge of Texans regarding Texas music, bring prominence to the craft of songwriting as a means of cultural expression, and encourage music education from primary school through post graduate studies; they will also contribute to the store of archival information available for future scholars, musicians, and the general public through the Center for Texas Music History at Texas State University—San Marcos; and

WHEREAS, These outstanding musicians represent the best of Texas music and are truly deserving of legislative recognition for their many accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend Larry Gatlin, Billy Joe Shaver, and Aaron Baker for their contributions to the unique body of work that is Texas music and extend to them congratulations on being named 2007 Texas Heritage Songwriters; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for these outstanding artists as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Williams

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 26, 2007.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate