SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 374

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women on the occasion of their visit to the Capitol on March 1, 2007; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Federation of Republican Women is one of the largest women's political organizations in the country; organized in 1955, 17 years after the National Federation of Republican Women was formed, it is widely recognized for its effectiveness in the election of Republican Party candidates to city, county, state, and national offices; and

WHEREAS, Members of the Texas Federation of Republican Women spend countless hours researching issues and working on behalf of Republican Party candidates; the organization's officers for the 2006—2007 year are Borah Van Dormolen, president; Toni Anne Dashiell, first vice president; June Rentmeester, vice president bylaws; Rebecca Williamson, vice president campaign activities; Mona Blocker Garcia, vice president finance; Lissa Smith, vice president legislation; Judy Smith, vice president membership; Ginia Wray Wright, vice president programs; Mina Fitting, secretary; Maria Burbridge, treasurer; Taffy Goldsmith, immediate past president; and Daphne Hamilton, parliamentarian; and

WHEREAS, Through the commitment, hard work, and dedication of federation members, women of all ages, ethnic groups, and backgrounds have an increased awareness of political issues and have recognized their importance in the political process; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 374

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

80th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Texas Federation

of Republican Women for their exemplary accomplishments and proclaim

March 1, 2007, Texas Federation of Republican Women Legislative Day

at the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for this organization as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nelson, Harris, Shapiro

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 28, 2007.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate
Member, Texas Senate
Member. Texas Senate