SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 392

In Memory of Matthew DeWayne Myrick

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Hereford in mourning the loss of Matthew DeWayne Myrick, who died January 20, 2006, at the age of 36; and

WHEREAS, Born June 8, 1969, Matt graduated from North Lamar High School in Paris, Texas, in 1987; he served his country in the United States Navy from 1989 until 1991; and

WHEREAS, Matt married Christy Alison Butler on January 2, 1993, in Austin; he earned a bachelor's degree in science from Texas Tech University in 1994 and later returned to the university where he earned a master's degree in agriculture in 2000; and

WHEREAS, Matt became a trooper for the Texas Department of Public Safety in 2004, finding a home and a career with others who shared his commitment to discipline and service; he died in the line of duty, and his dedication to the department will long be remembered by his colleagues; and

WHEREAS, A devout Christian, Matt practiced his faith in his daily life; he belonged to the Hereford Church of the Nazarene, where he was a newly elected board member, prepared Sunday School lessons, and sang bass on the church's praise and worship team; and

WHEREAS, A man of courage, strength, and compassion, Matt gave generously of himself to others, and his wisdom, warmth, and valued counsel will not be forgotten by those who knew him; and

WHEREAS, Matt was a devoted husband and father, and he leaves behind memories that will be cherished forever by his family and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Matthew DeWayne Myrick: his wife, Christy; his daughter, Matilyn; his sons, Tate, Luke, and Embry; his parents, Steve and Judy Myrick; his sister, Amanda Myrick; and his grandmothers, Nola Myrick and Hazel Burford; and, be it further

S.R. No. 392

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of his family as an expression of profound sympathy from the Texas Senate.

		Seliger
Averitt Brimer Carona Deuell Duncan Ellis Eltife Estes Fraser Gallegos	Harris Hegar Hinojosa Jackson Janek Lucio Nelson Nichols Ogden Patrick	Shapiro Shapleigh Uresti Van de Putte Watson Wentworth West Whitmire Williams Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 6, 2007, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate