## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 400

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the recipients of the 2007 Texas Exes Teaching Awards for their exemplary contributions to the cause of higher education at The University of Texas at Austin; and

WHEREAS, Texas' future depends on college students who must be fully equipped with the skills needed to succeed in the 21st century; their success would not be possible without the commitment and enthusiasm provided by professors, teaching assistants, lecturers, and assistant instructors such as the Texas Exes Teaching Award recipients; and

WHEREAS, The 2007 award recipients for quality teaching at The University of Texas at Austin are Ulrich Dangel and Hillary Collins of the School of Architecture, Anitesh Barua and Laura Catania of the School of Business, Rachel Smith and Assaf Avni of the College of Communication, James Patton and Shelley Nicholson of the College of Education, Mack Grady and John Porterfield of the College of Engineering, Tim High and Simon Provan of the College of Fine Arts, Chris Bell and Miriam Barquero-Molina of the School of Geosciences, Gary Geisler and Haley Richardson of the School of Information, Mechele Dickerson of the School of Law, David Oshinsky and Bonnie Rust of the College of Liberal Arts, John Batterton of the College of Natural Sciences, Janis Carelock and Meghan Murphy of the School of Nursing, Renee Acosta and Suborna Sikder of the College of Pharmacy, Christopher King and Michael Meyer of the LBJ School of Public Affairs, and Rowena Fong and Liliane Windsor of the School of Social Work; and

WHEREAS, All of these highly respected professionals have been nominated by students and selected by the Senate of College Councils, a student governance organization at The University of Texas at Austin; they are being honored for their unwavering commitment to higher education, their instructional excellence, and their dedication to their students; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Exes Awards program is jointly coordinated by The University of Texas at Austin, the Senate of College Councils, and the Ex-Students' Association; as a recipient of the Texas Exes Teaching Award, each of these educators has earned an honorable distinction and is deserving of legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend the recipients of the 2007 Texas Exes Teaching Awards and extend to them congratulations and best wishes for continued success in their future endeavors; and, be it further

S.R. No. 400

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for these dedicated professionals as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 5, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate