SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 434

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Alamo Heights High School football team for winning the University Interscholastic League Class 4A Division I state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Alamo Heights Mules won their first state title by defeating the Copperas Cove High School Bulldawgs 40-28 in a game in which the Mules repeatedly held off the multiple rallies of a determined Copperas Cove team; given the comeback history of the Bulldawgs, the game remained in doubt until the Mules scored on a quarterback sneak with 31 seconds left to play; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with a 14-1 record; team members Sergio Acosta, Jacob Aguirre, Drew Allen, Austin Amaro, Garrett Anders, Terry Andersen, James Bailey, Collin Bibb, Brent Blonkvist, Adam Bridgman, Bobby Broadnax, Collin Campbell, Josh Cantu, Connor Cook, Cody Courtney, Tyler Dan, Sam Dibrell, Adam Duncan, Cameron Foote, Abel Garcia, Grant Grotte, Donaven Guerrero, Sam Hamilton, Colton Haverda, Trent Kingman, Chris Layne, R. H. LePere, Dean Martin, Addison McCaleb, Patrick Mowrey, Ryan Murphy, Sean O'Brien, Michael Owens, Alex Patino, Ben Pilgrim, Kyle Pipkin, Sam Planto, Eduardo Rivera, Nico Romo, Charles Schaefer, Dylan Sharp, Ben Shaver, Matt Sledge, Dennis Stanley, Thomas Tatum, Charles Thaddeus, Craig Thompson, Andre Trevino, Giovanni Vizza, Matt Wentworth, and Beau Wilson can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach Don Byrd and with the assistance of varsity coaches Ron Harris, Doug Lambert, Bobby Newton, Mike Norment, Randy Osborne, Kelly Parker, Tim Stuewe, Chris Troilo, and Mike Walker, the Mules have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Alamo Heights High School and the Alamo Heights community are proud of the Mules for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
80th Legislature, hereby commend the Alamo Heights High School
football team on its successful season and extend congratulations
to all team members on winning the University Interscholastic
League Class 4A Division I state championship title; and, be it
further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Wentworth

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 7, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate