SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 472

WHEREAS, Port Arthur Mayor Oscar G. Ortiz has been named the 2006 Person of the Year by Quota International of Southeast Texas; and

WHEREAS, A Port Arthur native, Mayor Ortiz was first elected to the City Council in 1995; he has served the city as mayor for the past nine years, and he is making a lasting and beneficial contribution to the political and civic fabric of his community; and

WHEREAS, Mayor Ortiz has been a strong advocate for economic development and city expansion while in public office; his support of a \$1 billion tax abatement for BASF FINA, the largest ever granted a local refinery, has led to unprecedented retail growth; his efforts to create new jobs for Port Arthur residents have brought a number of new businesses to the area; and

WHEREAS, Especially proud of his work to cap property taxes for senior citizens and disabled veterans, Mayor Ortiz further demonstrated his unyielding dedication to his city in 2005, when Hurricane Rita struck the Gulf Coast; with Port Arthur in the heart of the storm's path, he oversaw vast preparation efforts and rode out the hurricane with emergency personnel; despite facing major damage to his own home and business, he devoted himself to supervising the local recovery efforts; and

WHEREAS, The strength of our communities depends on the leadership and commitment of individuals like Oscar Ortiz, who has worked tirelessly to create a brighter, more prosperous future for his fellow citizens; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby congratulate Mayor Oscar G. Ortiz on being named the 2006 Person of the Year by Quota International of Southeast Texas and commend him for his service to Port Arthur; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Mayor Ortiz as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Janek

President of the Senate
I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 14, 2007.
Secretary of the Senate
Member, Texas Senate