SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 478

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Mission Valley area of El Paso on the occasion of Valley Days at the State Capitol on March 14, 2007; and

WHEREAS, The oldest section of El Paso, Mission Valley was settled in the late 17th century by Spaniards and members of the Ysleta Pueblo tribe; three Spanish missions were built there during the 17th and 18th centuries; and

WHEREAS, These historic missions remain standing and still function as churches today; La Misión de Nuestra Señora de Corpus Christi Our Lady of Mount Carmel was built in Ysleta in 1682; Misión de Nuestra Señora de la Purisima Concepción del Socorro was built in Socorro in 1759, and Misión de San Elcear was built in San Elizario in 1789; and

built in San Elizario in 1789; and WHEREAS, The Ysleta del Sur Tigua Pueblo Native American tribe is located in Mission Valley; the Tigua is one of three tribes in Texas to have its sovereignty recognized by the United States government; and

WHEREAS, Mission Valley is a historic district that has made many contributions to the rich cultural heritage of El Paso and to our state; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby extend a heartfelt welcome to the citizens of the Mission Valley area of El Paso on Valley Days at the State Capitol; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 14, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate