## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 532

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Houston Dynamo for winning the 2006 Major League Soccer championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Houston Dynamo defeated the New England
Revolution in the championship game by a score of 4-3 on penalty
kicks after the teams had played to a 1-1 draw through regulation
and extra time; and

WHEREAS, These Houston Dynamo athletes demonstrated great talent and perseverance in bringing the Major League Soccer Cup to Texas in the team's first year of existence; and

WHEREAS, Playing for the 2006 Houston Dynamo were goalkeepers Pat Onstad, Zach Wells, and Martin Hutton; defenders Chris Aloisi, Wade Barrett, Ryan Cochrane, Kevin Goldthwaite, Kelly Gray, Patrick Ianni, Eddie Robinson, Adrian Serioux, and Craig Waibel; midfielders Mike Chabala, Ricardo Clark, Brad Davis, Dwayne De Rosario, Stuart Holden, Aaron Lanes, Mpho Moloi, Brian Mullan, Marcus Storey, and Chris Wondolowski; and forwards Brian Ching, Paul Dalglish, Alejandro Moreno, and Julian Nash; these team members can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the exceptional leadership of head coach
Dominic Kinnear and with the support of assistant coach John Spencer,
head athletic trainer Bruce Morgan, team administrator Nick Kowba,
and equipment manager Beau Abdulla, the Dynamo players have
developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, The City of Houston is proud of the members of the Houston Dynamo for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

80th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Houston

Dynamo on their successful season and extend congratulations to
them on winning the 2006 Major League Soccer championship; and,
be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Ellis, Gallegos, Janek, Whitmire, Williams

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 21, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate