SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 541

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Japan Fulbright Memorial Fund Master Teacher Program and the students and educators of Callisburg and of Kesennuma, Japan, who are taking part in the program; and

WHEREAS, The Japan Fulbright Memorial Fund Master Teacher Program is an outgrowth of the Japan Fulbright Memorial Fund Teacher Program; the teacher program was established 10 years ago by the government of Japan in gratitude to the United States for educating hundreds of Japanese after World War II through the Fulbright Scholarship Program founded by the late Senator J. William Fulbright; and

WHEREAS, Fully funded by the government of Japan, the master teacher exchange program promotes world peace for the sake of the children; and

WHEREAS, Educators and schools in Japan are paired with educators and schools in the United States; teachers in Japan visit the United States for two weeks in the spring of each year to study and become better acquainted with their partner schools and communities; then, teachers from the United States travel to Japan to spend six weeks there in the summer; and

WHEREAS, While in the program, students conduct science experiments of common interest and share results of studies and cultural experiences through video conferences; for the past three years, the Callisburg and Kesennuma schools have focused on water quality as their science project; students in Callisburg are studying the Elm Fork of the Trinity River and those in Kesennuma schools are studying the Omose River; and

WHEREAS, This year is the third consecutive year that Callisburg schools have been chosen to participate in the exchange program; the schools in the program are Callisburg High School, Callisburg Middle School, and Callisburg Elementary School; schools in Japan in the program are Kesennuma Omose Elementary School, Kesennuma Shi Shi Ori Elementary School, Kesennuma Omose Junior High School, and Miyagi Prefectural Kesennuma High School; their educational partners are North Central Texas College, Texas Christian University, and Miyagi University of Education; and

WHEREAS, Callisburg educators involved with the exchange program are Donald Metzler, Danita Ortwoski, Deana Melancon, Tom Demetrion, Carla Taylor, and Tim Jones; Kesennuma educators are Yuichi Hatakeyama, Seiichi Yokoyama, Hiroko Miyazaki, Katsushi Komatsu, Satoru Miura, Takanobu Kato, and Satoka Sawauchi; and

WHEREAS, Their education partners are Yukihiko Oikawa with the Kesennuma City Board of Education; Noriko Memezawa with the Miyagi University of Education; Dr. Eddie Hadlock, Lisa Bellows, and Sara Flusche with North Central Texas College; Dr. Carol Fletcher with the Texas Regional Collaborative for Excellence in Science Teaching; and Dr. Molly Weinburgh with Texas Christian University; and

S.R. No. 541

WHEREAS, The Japan Fulbright Memorial Fund Master Teacher Program creates a significant learning opportunity for students and educators in both Japan and the United States to share ideas on subjects of mutual interest, to become better informed about other cultures, and to work for a better world through understanding and cooperation; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend the Japan Fulbright Memorial Fund Master Teacher Program and its participants for their work in education and in promoting understanding between Japan and the United States and express appreciation to the government of Japan for their support of the master teacher program; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of highest regard from the Texas Senate.

Estes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 22, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate