SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 545

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of Girl Scout Troop 1500 and associate professors Dr. Darlene Grant and Ellen Spiro of The University of Texas at Austin; and

WHEREAS, Girl Scout Troop 1500 was established in 1998 as a visiting program for women in prison and their daughters; the goal of the program is to break the cycle of crime, allow incarcerated mothers to participate in their daughters' lives in a positive way, and help the girls fulfill their dreams for the future, which include becoming doctors, lawyers, veterinarians, social workers, or marine biologists; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Darlene Grant serves as an associate professor and a researcher in the School of Social Work and is an associate dean of graduate studies at The University of Texas at Austin, and she has worked closely with Troop 1500 since its inception; she has conducted extensive research focused on incarcerated women and their children, family systems, and adolescent psychiatric issues; Dr. Grant has been named the 2006 Social Worker of the Year by the National Association of Social Workers; and

WHEREAS, Ellen Spiro is an associate professor in the Department of Radio-Television-Film at The University of Texas at Austin and an award-winning film producer; she received a national Gracie Award for her documentary, Troop 1500--Girl Scouts Beyond Bars, which aired on the PBS series Independent Lens in 2005; she conducted media workshops with the troop and gave the girls the opportunity to take an active and empowering role as cinematographers and interviewers in the film's production; and

S.R. No. 545

WHEREAS, The girls participating in Austin's enterprising Girl Scout Troop 1500 deserve credit for their efforts to improve their lives, and Dr. Darlene Grant and Professor Ellen Spiro merit recognition for their outstanding work on behalf of the troop; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

80th Legislature, hereby commend the members of Girl Scout

Troop 1500, Dr. Darlene Grant, and Professor Ellen Spiro for
their achievements and extend to all best wishes for continued
success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Watson

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 27, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate