SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 554

In Memory of William Earl Crawford

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Fate in mourning the loss of William Earl Crawford, who died March 5, 2007, at the age of 85; and

WHEREAS, Bill Crawford gave more than 30 years of his life to revitalizing his hometown, and in the process he became a friend, leader, and mentor to many; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Crawford was elected mayor of Fate in 1957, when the town had 50 households, no running water or paved roads, and limited electricity; under his leadership, the town acquired the basic needs that it lacked, and today it has an estimated population of more than 4,000; and

WHEREAS, A lifelong farmer, Mr. Crawford supported his community as a volunteer leader; when infrastructure repairs needed to be made in the town, he directed crews himself to fix the problems; Farm-to-Market Road 551 in downtown Fate has been named W. E. Crawford Drive in his honor; and

WHEREAS, A man of courage, strength, and perseverance, he gave generously to others, and his wisdom, warmth, and valued counsel will not be forgotten by those who knew him; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Crawford was a devoted husband, father, and grandfather, and he will long be remembered with affection and admiration by all who were privileged to share in his life; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 554

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of William Earl Crawford: his wife, Mary Elizabeth Crawford; his sons, William Crawford, Jr., and Frank Stevenson Crawford; and his two grandchildren and one great-grandchild; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of William Earl Crawford.

Deuell

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 22, 2007, by a rising vote.

President of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Secretary of the Senate