SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 659

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Joseph Goldstein, who has been selected by Research! America as one of three recipients of its first Builders of Science Award; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Goldstein is a graduate of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School; he is chairman of Molecular Genetics at the medical school and regental professor of The University of Texas System; he holds both the Julie and Luis A. Beecherl, Jr., Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science and the Paul J. Thomas Chair in Medicine; and WHEREAS, He shared the 1985 Nobel Prize with his colleague,

WHEREAS, He shared the 1985 Nobel Prize with his colleague, Dr. Michael Brown; they were awarded the Nobel Prize for their discovery of the underlying mechanisms of cholesterol metabolism; their findings led to the development of statin drugs, the cholesterol-lowering compounds that are now among the most widely prescribed medications in the world; and

WHEREAS, Research! America is the nation's largest nonprofit public education and advocacy alliance; its mission is to make health research a higher national priority, and its awards are given to individuals and organizations that advance that mission; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Goldstein received Research! America's Builders of Science Award along with Dr. Michael Brown and Dr. Donald Seldin; they were honored for the roles they have played in building The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center into the world-class research facility it is today; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Joseph Goldstein for his outstanding achievements and congratulate him on receiving the Research! America Builders of Science Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 10, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

West

Member, Texas Senate