SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 660

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Dr. Donald Seldin, who has been selected by Research! America as one of three recipients of its first Builders of Science Award; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Donald Seldin has been an intellectual cornerstone of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School since the 1950s; he was chairman of Internal Medicine from 1952 to 1988, and he built a department that is recognized as one of the best in the country; and

WHEREAS, His encyclopedic grasp of medicine and his creative energy established a climate at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School that attracted superior faculty and ensured an institutional commitment to excellence; and

WHEREAS, Research! America is the nation's largest nonprofit public education and advocacy alliance; its mission is to make health research a higher national priority, and its awards are given to individuals and organizations that advance that mission; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Seldin received Research! America's Builders of Science Award along with Nobel laureates Dr. Michael Brown and Dr. Joseph Goldstein; they were honored for the roles they have played in building The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center into the world-class research facility it is today; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Donald Seldin for his outstanding achievements and congratulate him on receiving the Research! America Builders of Science Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 10, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate