SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 677

WHEREAS, Dr. Michael Brown, Dr. Joseph Goldstein, and Dr. Donald Seldin of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas were awarded the first Builders of Science Award from Research! America on March 20, 2007; and

WHEREAS, Research! America of Alexandria, Virginia, is the largest nonprofit medical and health research advocacy group in the nation; its new Builders of Science Award recognizes individuals who have helped to establish a medical research facility or built the credentials and reputation of an existing facility; and

WHEREAS, Combining biomedical research with clinical care and medical training, The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center is one of the leading medical centers in the nation; it has 1,500 full-time faculty members, including four active Nobel Prize winners; and

WHEREAS, Two of those Nobel laureates are Dr. Brown and Dr. Goldstein, who shared the 1985 Nobel Prize for Medicine; their discovery of the basic mechanisms of cholesterol metabolism led to the development of cholesterol-lowering statin drugs, among the most widely prescribed medications in the world; and

WHEREAS, A graduate of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School, Dr. Goldstein is chair of molecular genetics at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School and regental professor of the University of Texas System; he also holds the Julie and Louis A. Beecherl, Jr., Distinguished Chair in Biomedical Science and the Paul J. Thomas Chair in Medicine; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Brown is regental professor of the University of Texas System and directs the Erik Jonsson Center for Research in Molecular Genetics and Human Disease at The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center; he also holds the W. A. (Monty) Moncrief Distinguished Chair in Cholesterol and Arteriosclerosis Research and the Paul J. Thomas Chair in Medicine; and

WHEREAS, One of the pillars of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical School for over 50 years, Dr. Donald Seldin was chair of the internal medicine department from 1952 to 1988; a mentor to several generations of physicians and researchers, including Dr. Brown and Dr. Goldstein, he is a professor of internal medicine and holds the William Buchanan Chair in Internal Medicine; and

S.R. No. 677

WHEREAS, Dr. Seldin, Dr. Brown, and Dr. Goldstein are outstanding physicians whose commitment to excellence in biomedical research helps to generate exceptional patient care as well as notable scientific achievements, and their recent recognition is most well deserved; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby congratulate Dr. Michael Brown, Dr. Joseph Goldstein, and Dr. Donald Seldin of The University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center on their receipt of the Builders of Science Award from Research! America and extend to them best wishes for their continued success; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That official copies of this Resolution be prepared for Dr. Brown, Dr. Goldstein, and Dr. Seldin as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Carona

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 11, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate