## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 706

WHEREAS, The Texas Environmental Excellence Awards are being presented May 2, 2007, and the Texas Senate is pleased to recognize the recipients of these prestigious accolades for their dedicated efforts to protect and conserve our state's natural resources; and

WHEREAS, Nominated by a blue-ribbon committee and selected by the Office of the Governor and the commissioners of the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality, these award-winning Texans, who are involved in small and large businesses, government, and individual citizenship, have voluntarily endeavored to preserve our state's natural resources by preventing pollution, minimizing waste, conserving water, reducing energy consumption, and protecting wildlife; and

WHEREAS, The 2007 Texas Environmental Excellence Awards recipients are 3-M Company-Brownwood, Atlas Copco Drilling Solutions, Incorporated, Dan Fette Builders, Incorporated, the Gulf of Mexico Foundation, Keep El Paso Beautiful, Leak Surveys, Incorporated, Rick Norwood, the San Antonio River Basin Monitoring Network Partnership, Sarah Metzger, the Texas Agricultural Experiment Station-El Paso, The University of Texas at El Paso--Center for Environmental Resource Management, and the Victoria Independent School District; and

WHEREAS, These winners are also sharing their knowledge, technology, and expertise to educate Texans as to how they may protect the environment in their communities, and their leadership will prove vital in preserving our state's natural resources for future generations; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

80th Legislature, hereby recognize May 2, 2007, as Texas Environmental Excellence Awards Day at the State Capitol and commend the award recipients for their exemplary efforts on behalf of the Lone Star State; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

each winner as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Averitt

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 16, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate