SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 707

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Lindsay High School Lady Knights, who have won the University Interscholastic League's Class A Division I girls state basketball championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Lady Knights overpowered the Sundown High School team 43-36 to become state champions after defeating top-ranked Martin's Mill 62-60 in the semifinals; they finished the season with 31 wins and four losses; and

WHEREAS, Throughout the season, the Lady Knights exhibited perseverance, team unity, and respect for the highest ideals of sportsmanship; they also exhibited the skills and the discipline instilled in them by head coach Don Neu and assistant coach Robin Hess, who were aided by managers Rhiannon Robinson, Emily Copeland, and Bailey Kuhn; and

WHEREAS, Brittany Anderle, Chelsea Hermes, and most valuable player Christina Eckart were named to the all-tournament team; the other champion team members are Kaileigh Hess, Amanda Hess, Karissa Reiter, Autumn Murrill, Stephanie Neu, Emily Fuhrmann, Katelyn Brewer, Hillary Hoelker, Rose Hermes, Elizabeth Martin, Beverly Knabe, and Kayla Hess; and

Stephanie Neu, Emily Fuhrmann, Katelyn Brewer, Hillary Hoelker, Rose Hermes, Elizabeth Martin, Beverly Knabe, and Kayla Hess; and WHEREAS, The Lady Knights and their coaches and staff are a source of tremendous pride to the students and faculty at Lindsay High School and to their families and the community, and they deserve recognition for their outstanding achievements; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby congratulate the players and coaching staff of the Lindsay High School girls basketball team for winning the Class A Division I state basketball championship and extend to them best wishes for continued success in the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Estes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 16, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate