SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 758

WHEREAS, The American Cancer Society is the nationwide community-based health organization dedicated to eliminating cancer as a major health problem; currently one in four deaths in the United States is from cancer; and

WHEREAS, The Relay For Life is the American Cancer Society's signature event and one of the means by which the organization accomplishes its mission; and

WHEREAS, The Relay For Life consists of over 4,000 events nationwide to honor cancer survivors, educate the general public about the importance of early detection and prevention of cancer, and raise funds in the fight against cancer; and

WHEREAS, The City of Brownsville is hosting its ninth annual Relay For Life at Saint Joseph Academy on April 21 and 22, 2007; the Brownsville annual Relays For Life play a major role in helping to support cancer research, education, advocacy, and patient services; in 2006, there were 136 registered cancer survivors in Brownsville; now, therefore, be it

cancer survivors in Brownsville; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
80th Legislature, hereby commend the Brownsville community for hosting an annual Relay For Life and encourage communities throughout our state to participate in this effort to eradicate cancer as a major health problem; and, be it further

cancer as a major health problem; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of the City of Brownsville 2007 Relay For Life.

Lucio

| Averitt | Harris | Shapiro |
|----------|----------|--------------|
| Brimer | Hegar | Shapleigh |
| Carona | Hinojosa | Uresti |
| Deuell | Jackson | Van de Putte |
| Duncan | Janek | Watson |
| Ellis | Nelson | Wentworth |
| Eltife | Nichols | West |
| Estes | Ogden | Whitmire |
| Fraser | Patrick | Williams |
| Gallegos | Seliger | Zaffirini |

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 17, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate