## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 771

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Dennis Cowan Elementary School first-grade students and their teachers on the occasion of their special visit to the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, First-grade teachers Mary Cook, Sylvia Gonzalez, Tracy Graham, Raymond Iglesias, and Kathy Lentz, together with parent volunteers, have brought their students to learn more about the State Capitol, the seat of state government; and

WHEREAS, Cowan Elementary School is located on Kentish Drive in southwest Austin and was named for Dennis Cowan, a 38-year Austin Independent School District teacher and administrator; the school principal is April Glenn; the school colors are purple and green, and its mascot is the coyote; it is said coyotes still roam in the woods near the school; and

WHEREAS, Cowan Elementary School is known for its dedicated administrators and educators who are committed to ensuring that each student has the opportunity to achieve his or her full academic potential; the school's teachers provide skillful and personalized instruction and are fortunate to have the support of actively involved family members; and

WHEREAS, The students in the first-grade class at Cowan Elementary School have bright futures in any profession they choose, as the school is a strong educational institution and has created an environment that encourages students to work hard, develop their skills, and achieve their goals; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby welcome the Cowan Elementary School first-grade Coyotes, their teachers, and their parents to the State Capitol and extend to the students best wishes for success throughout their school years and in the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Wentworth

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 18, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate