SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 773

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join the Communities In Schools State Advisory Committee and the Texas Education Agency in recognizing the recipients of the 2007 Best of Texas CIS Awards; and

WHEREAS, Communities In Schools is a nationwide dropout prevention network that helps students improve in academics, attendance, and behavior and encourages students to stay in school, graduate, and pursue postsecondary goals; there are 27 area programs in Texas; and

WHEREAS, The Best of Texas CIS Award recipients are those individuals who have made exceptional contributions to students, families, the community at large, and the Communities In Schools program; and

WHEREAS, Award winners and their Communities In Schools programs are Kris Downing, of Central Texas, Paul Lane Award of Excellence; Karl Schmalz, of the Dallas Region, Board Member of the Year; Mike Steele, of Tarrant County, Executive Director of the Year; Julie Lyon, of Northeast Texas, Staff Member of the Year; Dr. Kenny Thompson, of Northeast Texas, Volunteer of the Year; Tashia Dawn Rusnak, of South Central Texas, Student of the Year; Dorothy Harris, of McLennan County Youth Collaboration, Parent of the Year; and

WHEREAS, Other recipients are Paul Vranish, Tornillo Independent School District, of El Paso, Superintendent of the Year; Jessica Hicks, Waco Independent School District, of McLennan County Youth Collaboration, Principal of the Year; Nance Lee Talbett, Copperas Cove Independent School District, of Bell-Coryell Counties, Teacher of the Year; Bank of America, of Tarrant County, Business of the Year; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated award recipients have helped many young Texans stay in school, prepare for successful lives, and contribute to their communities, and they indeed deserve legislative recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend all those involved with the Communities In Schools programs of Texas for their exceptional work and extend congratulations to the worthy recipients of the 2007 Best of Texas CIS Awards; and, be it further

S.R. No. 773

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the award recipients as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Shapleigh

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 19, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate