## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 809

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Cedar Hill High School football team, which recently won the University Interscholastic League Class 5A Division II state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Longhorns convincingly defeated Cypress Falls High School 51-17 to win the state title; the team was also named the Chevrolet High School Football Team of the Year; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated exceptional talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with an undefeated record; team members can take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of Coach Joey McGuire, the Longhorns have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline; and

WHEREAS, Cedar Hill High School and the City of Cedar Hill are proud of the Longhorns for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Cedar Hill High School football team for their successful season and extend congratulations to them on winning the University Interscholastic League Class 5A Division II state championship title; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 25, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate