SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 872

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the members of the Duncanville High School boys varsity basketball team on winning the University Interscholastic League's 2007 Class 5A state championship title in March; and

WHEREAS, The Duncanville boys basketball champions completed the season with a perfect 39-0 record; they have been listed in the top five of the Student Sports FAB 50 national rankings; they were ranked second in the nation by HoopsUSA; head coach Phil McNeely was named the National Coach of the Year by EA Sports; and

WHEREAS, The players exhibited perseverance, team unity, and respect for the highest ideals of sportsmanship throughout the season; they also demonstrated their exceptional talent and the discipline instilled in them by Coach McNeely, who was aided by assistant coach Dean McGuire and managers Teryn Lackey, Sarah Thomas, and Cilia Beach; and

WHEREAS, The Duncanville High School 2006-2007 varsity team members are seniors Corey Johnson, Brent Stanton, and D'Walyn Roberts; juniors Kevin Butler, Brian Talley, Jamal Lenzy, Josh Etheridge, Victor Adewunmi, and Marcus Gilmore; and sophomores Roger Franklin and Shawn Williams; and

WHEREAS, This exemplary group of young men, together with their coaches and staff, deserve congratulations on their accomplishments; they are a source of great pride to the students and faculty at Duncanville High School, to their families, and to the Duncanville community; now, therefore, be it RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby congratulate the players and coaching staff of the Duncanville High School boys basketball team for winning the University Interscholastic League Class 5A state championship title and extend to them best wishes for success in the future; and, be it further

the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
the team as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 25, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate