## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 873

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize South Oak Cliff High School Golden Bears boys basketball team, which recently won its third consecutive University Interscholastic League Class 4A state championship title; and

WHEREAS, The Golden Bears were victorious in their 11th appearance at the state tournament, winning their fifth overall state championship by defeating Beaumont Ozen High School; and

WHEREAS, These young athletes have demonstrated great talent and perseverance throughout the school year; team members Micheal Berry, Xavier Armstrong, Tydreon Shaw, Demetrius Fields, Fred Gipson, Cornilus Dawson, Israel Milburn, Brandon Jones, Baron Brown, J'Mison Morgan, Jaquiece Smith, Thomas Owens, Derrick Perkins, Wyrn Standmire, and Dominique Clay can take pride in their outstanding performance this season; and

WHEREAS, Under the superior leadership and expertise of head coach James Mays II and the assistant coaches, Derek Stricklin and Anthony Terrell, and with the assistance of the basketball coordinator, Reno Savala, and the statistician, Ida Tucker, the Golden Bears have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline;

WHEREAS, South Oak Cliff High School and the City of Dallas are proud of the Golden Bears boys basketball team for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; they have provided a sense of great pride in their neighborhood, and their hard work and dedication stand as an example for all to follow; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend the South Oak Cliff High School Golden Bears on their successful season and extend congratulations to them on winning the University Interscholastic League Class 4A state championship title; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West President of the Senate I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 25, 2007. Secretary of the Senate Member, Texas Senate