## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 924

## In Memory of Ernest Valencia Mendoza

WHEREAS, Texans everywhere are indebted to the fine men and women in the law enforcement profession who, by their selfless dedication to the public welfare, have enabled us to enjoy the benefits of a peaceful and orderly society; and

WHEREAS, Seldom recognized and often taken for granted by the public they so faithfully serve, these gallant individuals daily risk their lives in order to ensure domestic tranquility and protect the lives and property of others; and

WHEREAS, Police Chief Ernest Valencia Mendoza of the Needville Independent School District exemplified in his personal and professional conduct the singular virtues of courage, integrity, and unwavering dedication; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his 10 years and one month on the force, his record was one of meritorious service, loyalty, personal bravery, and self-sacrifice consistent with the high ideals of the law enforcement profession; and

WHEREAS, Chief Mendoza was killed in the line of duty on January 19, 2007; his untimely death was a tragic loss to his family, to his fellow peace officers, and to the entire community; and

WHEREAS, His legacy of heroic dedication and self-sacrifice
will endure and continue to be a source of inspiration to those

who follow in a difficult but essential profession; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

80th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the life of

Police Chief Ernest Valencia Mendoza of the Needville

Independent School District and extend deepest sympathy to his

family, his friends, and his fellow officers; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of his family, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Police Chief Ernest Valencia Mendoza.

D	е	u	е	1	1
_	_	٠.	_	_	_

Averitt	Hegar	Shapiro
Brimer	Hinojosa	Shapleigh
Carona	Jackson	Uresti
Duncan	Janek	Van de Putte
Ellis	Lucio	Watson
Eltife	Nelson	Wentworth
Estes	Nichols	West
Fraser	Ogden	Whitmire
Gallegos	Patrick	Williams
Harris	Seliger	Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 30, 2007, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate