SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 939

In Memory of Lillian M. Cooper

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of Dallas in mourning the loss of Lillian M. Cooper, who died April 15, 2007, at the age of 72; and

WHEREAS, Lillian Cooper was born in San Augustine, Texas, on May 17, 1934, to Frank and Virgie Montgomery; after completing high school, she moved to Dallas in 1952; she was married to Joseph Cooper on April 16, 1953; and
WHEREAS, She was active in many political and community organizations, including the Greater Dallas Housing Opportunity

WHEREAS, She was active in many political and community organizations, including the Greater Dallas Housing Opportunity Center, the League of Women Voters, Senior Citizens of Metropolitan Dallas, the Dallas Area Women's Political Caucus, and the Dallas Homeowners League; and

WHEREAS, She served as a precinct chair for the Dallas County Democratic Party and as president of Our Brothers Keepers; she also assisted teachers and administrators with the care of students at Charles Rice Learning Center; and

WHEREAS, Lillian Cooper was a dearly loved wife, mother, and grandmother, and those she leaves behind will long remember her charm, her courage, and her generosity of spirit; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
80th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the
bereaved family of Lillian Cooper: her husband, Joseph Cooper;
her daughters, Jacqueline Jones, Denise Clayton, and Nancy Hall;
her stepson, Billy Joe Cooper; her sisters, Estelle Scott,
Fannie Hoyt, Margaret Fisher, and Madlyn Ellis; her 14 grandchildren;
and her 21 great-grandchildren; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Lillian M. Cooper.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 1, 2007, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate