## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 970

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas takes great pleasure in recognizing the fourth class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program offered through the Senate Hispanic Research Council; and

WHEREAS, The program was named in memory of Senator Gregory Luna of San Antonio to honor his dedication to public service and his tireless efforts advocating on behalf of Texas children; and

WHEREAS, During his tenure in the Senate, Senator Luna fought for educational equity and was a true champion for underrepresented and underserved Texans; and

WHEREAS, As a tribute to Senator Luna's admirable work in the Senate, this prestigious program was created to provide opportunities for undergraduate and graduate students from across the state to serve as full-time legislative assistants in the Texas Senate and acquire the training they need to become effective leaders in our state; and

WHEREAS, These scholars and fellows perform a variety of legislative tasks and learn firsthand how public policy is shaped; they also coordinate the Biannual Luna Scholars Leadership Institute which educates high school students on how to prepare for the college admissions process and on how to navigate the legislative process; and

WHEREAS, The following scholars and fellows have demonstrated outstanding dedication and achievement in Senate offices and the Office of the Governor: Adriana Alanis from San Antonio, serving in the office of State Senator Leticia Van de Putte; Adelina Bryant from San Antonio, serving in the office of State Senator Royce West; Michael Dole from Laredo, serving in the office of State Senator Judith Zaffirini; Servando Esparza from Fort Worth, serving in the office of State Senator Kip Averitt; Laura Fernandez from Sugar Land, serving in the office of Governor Rick Perry; Jonathan Fuentes from Pecos, serving in the office of State Senator Carlos Uresti; Rogelio Gomez from San Antonio, serving in the office of State Senator Mario Gallegos; Julie Gonzalez from Edinburg, serving in the office of State Senator Eddie Lucio; Caroline Hallman from McAllen, serving in the office of State Senator Eliot Shapleigh; Xochitl Hinojosa from Brownsville, serving in the office of State Senator Kirk Watson; Nicole Monsibais from San Antonio, serving in the office of State Senator Kel Seliger; Luis Moreno from Seguin, serving in the office of State Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa; Joshua Nunez from Levelland, serving in the office of State Senator Robert Duncan; Osiris Santos from Huntsville, serving in the office of Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst; Gonzalo Serrano from McKinney, serving in the office of State Senator Leticia Van de Putte; and Vanessa Valdez from San Antonio, serving in the office of State Senator John Whitmire; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 970

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend these promising students for their remarkable service this session and wish them continued success as they prepare to become the future leaders of our great state; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be presented to them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Hinojosa

Averitt	Harris	Shapiro
Brimer	Hegar	Shapleigh
Carona	Jackson	Uresti
Deuell	Janek	Van de Putte
Duncan	Lucio	Watson
Ellis	Nelson	Wentworth
Eltife	Nichols	West
Estes	Ogden	Whitmire
Fraser	Patrick	Williams
Gallegos	Seliger	Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate