SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 995

In Memory of Robert Cone Perkins

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of San Antonio in mourning the loss of Robert Cone Perkins, who died April 4, 2007, at the age of 81; and

WHEREAS, Bob Perkins was born July 10, 1925, in Oshkosh, Wisconsin; he had a 30-year career in the United States Air Force, which took him to postings throughout the United States and the Pacific; he served as a pilot and an instructor during World War II and was one of the first to be awarded the new military rank of chief master sergeant; and

WHEREAS, After his military career, Mr. Perkins moved to San Antonio, where he made his home with his wife of 43 years, Josephine M. Perkins; he worked for the State of Texas for 27 years; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Perkins participated in numerous community activities; he served as president of the Good Neighbor Council and held offices in the Harp and Shamrock Society; he was known for his gourmet cooking and was noted especially for the Irish stew he prepared for the Folklife Festival for many years; and WHEREAS, Mr. Perkins was devoted to his family and was

WHEREAS, Mr. Perkins was devoted to his family and was dedicated to serving his state and country, and he will continue to live in the hearts and minds of those he left behind; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
80th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the
bereaved family of Robert Cone Perkins: his children, Ruth,
John, Jim, Darrell, and Lisa; his sister, Patricia Schram; his
brothers, Jim and Almer Perkins; and his four grandchildren and
two great-grandchildren; and, be it further
RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for

the members of his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Robert Cone Perkins.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2007, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate