SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 997

In Memory of Ramon Carrillo

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas joins the citizens of San Antonio in mourning the loss of Ramon E. Carrillo, who died April 6, 2007, at the age of 78; and

WHEREAS, Ramon Carrillo was born August 31, 1928, in Queretaro, Mexico, to Jesus and Feliciana Carrillo; he immigrated to the United States in 1950; and

WHEREAS, He met his soulmate, Oralia Delgado Trevino, a year later; they were married October 13, 1952; and they were blessed with a wonderful family, and their children have been a source of much pride and joy for them; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Carrillo was an owner and operator for Mayflower Moving until an unfortunate accident led him to seek a college education and another career; he became president of the College of Student Government at Saint Philip's College and went on to serve as vice president of the Bexar County policy-making council of the Head Start program; in 1976, he ran for Congress as a candidate of the La Raza Unida Party; and

WHEREAS, He touched many people with his positive attitude, his infectious smile, and his devotion to his family, and he will long be remembered by those individuals who were privileged to share in his love and friendship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby extend sincere condolences to the bereaved family of Ramon E. Carrillo: his beloved wife, Oralia Trevino Carrillo; his sons, Xavier, Roger, Hector, Reynaldo, Cesar, Josh Carmen, Christopher, and Benjamin Carrillo; his daughters, Hilda Garcia, Oralia Carrillo, and Irma Martinez; and his 23 grandchildren and seven great-grandchildren; and, be it further

S.R. No. 997

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the members of his family as an expression of deepest sympathy from the Texas Senate, and that when the Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Ramon E. Carrillo.

Van de Putte

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2007, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate