SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 998

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the eighth grade students of Northwest Preparatory Academy Charter School on the occasion of their promotion exercises on May 21, 2007; and

WHEREAS, The Northwest Preparatory Academy Charter School was founded in Houston in 2001; the school offers a balanced educational program that will allow students to reach their full potential through meaningful instruction; and

WHEREAS, The founders, Superintendent Stevie Roberts and Deputy Superintendent Erik Singleton, wanted to create state-of-the-art learning centers to challenge children to achieve educational and occupational excellence; and

WHEREAS, The eighth grade students who are being promoted are Ariel Anderson, Anthony Brown, Jeron Dagins, Ja'Marcus Ellis, Torrian Green, Ryan Hernandez, Ka'lyone Hines, Brandon Kelly, Eric Martin, Lawrencia Murray, Cory Okpaleke, Craig Okpaleke, Nair Robinson, Jocresha Steward, Jada Stewart, Nicholas Thomas, Daryn Thomas, Ashley Tillman, Ashley Williams, and Laresha Wimbley; and

WHEREAS, The promotion exercises will be held at Pleasant Hill Baptist Church in Houston; the Northwest Preparatory Academy Charter School eighth grade students are now prepared to take the next step in their educational adventure, and they face a future filled with infinite possibilities; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby congratulate the eighth grade students from Northwest Preparatory Academy Charter School and extend best wishes to them for success in the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared to commemorate this special occasion from the Texas Senate.

Ellis

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2007.

President of the Senate

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate