SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1087

In Memory of Thomas James Hewett

WHEREAS, United States Army Private First Class
Thomas James Hewett of Moffat passed away on October 13, 2006,
from injuries sustained while serving in Iraq, and he leaves
behind a loving family and many friends; and

WHEREAS, A native of the Lone Star State, Private Hewett was born on September 11, 1984, in Temple; as a young man he enjoyed camping, hunting, and fishing, and attended Belton High School before joining the United States Army in 2005; after training at Fort Knox, he deployed to Iraq in August of 2006; and

WHEREAS, A cavalry scout assigned to B Troop, 1st Squadron, 89th Cavalry, 2nd Brigade Combat Team, T. J. Hewett was passionate in the performance of his duties; he embodied the qualities of selflessness, heroism, and valor, and the blessing of his life will be forever treasured by those who were privileged to share in the warmth of his love and friendship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,

80th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the life of United States

Army Private Thomas James Hewett and extend deepest sympathy to
the members of his family: his wife, Vina Hewett; his parents,

Richard and Sharon Hewett; his son, Clifton Hewett; his brother,

Rick Hewett; his sister, Mickayela Hewett; his grandfather,

Nelson Nixon; his great-grandmothers, Louella Fikes and

Eleanor Graham; and his other relatives and many friends; and,
be it further

S.R. No. 1087

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for his family and that when the Texas Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of United States Army Private First Class Thomas James Hewett.

Averitt	Harris	Shapiro
Brimer	Hegar	Shapleigh
Carona	Hinojosa	Uresti
Deuell	Jackson	Van de Putte
Duncan	Lucio	Watson
Ellis	Nelson	Wentworth
Eltife	Nichols	West
Estes	Ogden	Whitmire
Fraser	Patrick	Williams
Gallegos	Seliger	Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 18, 2007, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Janek