SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1097

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Christa McAuliffe Elementary School in the Lewisville Independent School District on the splendid occasion of its 20th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, Built in 1987, the school was named for Sharon Christa Corrigan McAuliffe, the New Hampshire wife and mother and dedicated high school teacher who was selected from more than 11,000 applicants by the National Aeronautics and Space Administration to be the first teacher in space; and

WHEREAS, Tragically, Christa McAuliffe died with her six crew members when the space shuttle *Challenger* exploded shortly after liftoff on January 28, 1986; because of her adventurous spirit and her determination to pursue her goal to reach for the stars, Christa McAuliffe became a symbol of courage and optimism for many teachers and young people; and

WHEREAS, The McAuliffe Elementary School provides quality education in a safe and positive learning environment for its students, encouraging them to pursue higher education and any career they choose; the school has outstanding educators and receives the outstanding support of parents and volunteers; many of the parents volunteer in an outreach program to help other schools in the district; and

WHEREAS, The school is rated Exemplary by the Texas Education Agency; it has received a Gold Performance Acknowledgment in attendance and a Commended Acknowledgment in reading, mathematics, writing, and science; and

WHEREAS, McAuliffe Elementary School will celebrate its 20th year of educating and teaching its students to reach for the stars in a program and reception in the school library on May 23, 2007; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby extend best wishes to the past and present educators and students of Christa McAuliffe Elementary School for a memorable 20th anniversary celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Harris

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 18, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate