SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1167

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Charles Emery, Denton County Transportation Authority board chairman, who has been named Outstanding Board Member of the Year by the American Public Transportation Association; and

WHEREAS, The American Public Transportation Association is an international organization that represents the transportation industry and promotes public transportation; it recognizes excellence in the public transportation industry through its annual awards program; and

WHEREAS, Charles Emery was at the forefront in helping to establish the Denton County Transportation Authority; a noted consensus builder, he conducted more than 125 meetings with area citizens and talked with state and national legislators about the need for mobility solutions in North Texas to reduce traffic congestion, enhance air quality, promote economic development, and improve the quality of life; and

WHEREAS, He was named to the Denton County Transportation Authority's board of directors by the City of Lewisville in 2002 and became board chairman; the authority's new bus service began in 2006 with the launch of its regional commuter bus system and the expansion of its university shuttle system; under Mr. Emery's leadership, the authority is currently working to get a regional rail line connecting Denton and Dallas Counties; and

WHEREAS, Charles Emery is a sixth-generation Denton County resident and a longtime community leader; he has served on the Lewisville City Council and several economic and industrial development boards; and

WHEREAS, He has been involved with consulting and real estate development for more than 25 years and owns FCE Enterprises, Incorporated; he indeed deserves recognition for his visionary leadership on behalf of public transportation in North Texas; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
80th Legislature, hereby commend Charles Emery for his efforts in
promoting public transportation in North Texas and congratulate
him on his selection as Outstanding Board Member of the Year by
the American Public Transportation Association; and, be it
further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Harris, Brimer, Carona, Nelson, Shapiro

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
Member, Texas Senate	Member, Texas Senate
Member, Texas Senate	
	President of the Senate I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 25, 2007.