SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1221

WHEREAS, It is a pleasure for the Texas Senate to honor one of its most respected longtime staff members, Susan Tyler, whose invaluable work on behalf of the Senate and its employees consistently exemplifies the best in Senate tradition; and

WHEREAS, Susan first worked at the Senate in 1974, and her service with the Senate now totals more than 29 years; she became director of Senate Payroll in 1996; and

WHEREAS, As director of the Senate Payroll Office, Susan has handled her wide-ranging responsibilities with the utmost professionalism and dedication; from managing monthly payrolls to coordinating Senate programs, Susan can always be relied upon to carry out the finishing touches deftly and accurately; and

WHEREAS, While her position would be a daunting challenge for anyone, Susan is known for carrying forth with poise and dependability and for treating her co-workers and other Senate staff with graciousness, warmth, and unfailing courtesy; and

WHEREAS, A role model for anyone in public service, Susan handles her duties with integrity and perseverance, and though she often faces heavy workload times and seemingly impossible deadlines to meet, she remains focused and committed to task; and

WHEREAS, An admirable Senate employee, Susan is noted for her kindness and the quintessential patience she displays when answering the thousands of questions that come her way, and she deserves recognition for the special attributes she brings to her position; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 1221

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby commend Susan Tyler on her exceptional service to the Texas Senate and congratulate her on her selection as the 2007 administrative recipient of the Betty King Public Service Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Brimer

Averitt Carona Deuell Duncan Ellis Eltife Estes Fraser Gallegos Harris Hegar Hinojosa Jackson Janek Lucio Nelson Nichols Ogden Patrick Seliger Shapiro Shapleigh Uresti Van de Putte Watson Wentworth West Whitmire Williams Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 28, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate