SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 1222

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to pay tribute to longtime valued public servant Joe Morris, who has served the Senate with loyalty and distinction; and

WHEREAS, Throughout Joe's career with the Senate, he has handled his responsibilities with dedication and efficiency and has had the steadfast admiration of legislators and colleagues; and

WHEREAS, From his superior work as emcee of the Senate Christmas party to his professional duties as chief of staff to Senator Jeff Wentworth, Joe has earned a reputation as an imperturbable, energetic team leader who is renowned for both his organizational skills and convivial personality; and

WHEREAS, Widely regarded for his managerial proficiency and tenacity, Joe deserves commendation for his ability to consistently accomplish the mission before him, no matter the uniqueness of the task or the challenges it entails; and

WHEREAS, Joe joined Senator Wentworth's office after having served on the staff of Senator Bill Sims; he now has worked with the Texas Senate for over 16 years; well known for his dedication to the Senate and his enthusiasm for his work, Joe loyally represents the senator for whom he serves and feels as though it is the duty of chiefs of staff to be the eyes and ears of their legislator; and

WHEREAS, A favorite among the Senate staff members and a well-known face to those who walk the Capitol halls, Joe Morris enjoys the friendship and affection of many, as well as the highest respect of all who have worked with him; now, therefore, be it

1

S.R. No. 1222

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 80th Legislature, hereby extend appreciation to Joe Morris for his outstanding service on behalf of the Texas Senate and congratulations to him on his selection as the 2007 legislative recipient of the Betty King Public Service Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Brimer

Averitt Carona Deuell Duncan Ellis Eltife Estes Fraser Gallegos Harris Hegar Hinojosa Jackson Janek Lucio Nelson Nichols Ogden Patrick Seliger Shapiro Shapleigh Uresti Van de Putte Watson Wentworth West Whitmire Williams Zaffirini

Dewhurst, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 28, 2007.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate