Wednesday, August 20, 2008

9:00 a.m.

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036






Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Finance Higher Education Subcommittee was held on Wednesday, August 20, 2008, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.







Senator Judith Zaffirini, Chair

Senator Steve Ogden

Senator Robert Duncan

Senator Royce West



Senator Dan Patrick

Senator Eliot Shapleigh


Senator Florence Shapiro




The chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted: 


The chair explained in her opening remarks that this hearing was called to address Lieutenant Governor David Dewhurst's charge relating to community and technical colleges.


Senator Ogden moved that the minutes of the June 25, 2008, and July 23, 2008, hearings be approved. The motion was adopted by unanimous consent. 


The following witnesses testified on behalf of the Texas Association of Community Colleges (TACC): Dr. Millicent Valek, Chair; Dr. Richard Rhodes, Chair-Elect; Dr. William Holda, Secretary and Treasurer; and Dr. Reynaldo Garcia, President and CEO.


The following witnesses testified on behalf of the Community College Association of Texas Trustees (CCATT): Roberto Zarate, Chair; Kitty Boyle, Vice Chair; Alan Kaplan, Treasurer; and Chris Adler, Secretary.


The following witness testified on behalf of Texas State Technical Colleges (TSTC): Michael Bettersworth, Vice Chancellor for Technology Advancement.


The chair opened the floor for public testimony. The following witness testified: Beaman Floyd, Member, Texas Community College Teachers Association (TCCTA). The chair closed public testimony.


There being no further business, at 1:25 p.m., upon motion of Senator Ogden, the committee was recessed, subject to the call of the chair.





Senator Judith Zaffirini, Chair




Amy Jeter, Clerk