Monday, June 16, 2008

12:00 p.m.

Dallas, Texas






Pursuant to HCR 70, a public hearing of the Select Committee on Public School Accountability was held on Monday, June 16, 2008, in Dallas, Texas.







Senator Florence Shapiro, Co-Chair

Representative Rob Eissler, Co-Chair

Representative Diane Patrick

Beto Gonzalez

Sandy Kress

Susan Lewis

Thomas Randle

David Splitek

Ron Steinhart


Senator Tommy Williams

Raymund Paredes

Robert Scott

Salem Abraham

Dalia Benavides

Larry Kellner





Senator Shapiro called the meeting to order at 12:08 p.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted: 


Representative Eissler moved adoption of the minutes from the previous hearings held on April 14, 2008 and May 12, 2008; without objection, it was so ordered.   


Senator Shapiro and Representative Eissler, as Co-Chairs, shared presiding duties throughout the hearing.


Senator Shapiro and Representative Eissler made opening remarks to the Committee.


The Chair recognized the following persons to make opening remarks:  Representative Helen Giddings, Representative Barbara Mallory Caraway, State Board of Education Chairman Don McLeroy, State Board of Education Member Geraldine "Tincy" Miller, State Board of Education Member Mavis B. Knight, Superintendent of Highland Park ISD Cathy Bryce, and Superintendent of Hurst-Euless-Bedford ISD Dr. Gene Buinger.


At 2:23 p.m. Representative Eissler assumed the Chair.


At 2:34 p.m. Senator Shapiro resumed the Chair.


At 3:16 p.m. Senator Shapiro opened public testimony.


Witnesses testifying and registering are shown on the attached list.


There being no further business, at 5:16 p.m. Senator Shapiro moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered. 







Senator Florence Shapiro, Co-Chair




Representative Rob Eissler, Co-Chair




Holly Mabry, Clerk