Friday, September 19, 2008

9:00 a.m.

Capitol Extension, Room E1.036






Pursuant to HCR 70, a public hearing of the Select Committee on Public School Accountability was held on Friday, September 19, 2008, in the Capitol Extension, Room E1.036, in Austin, Texas.







Senator Florence Shapiro. Co-Chair

Representative Rob Eissler, Co-Chair

Salem Abraham

Dalia Benavides

Beto Gonzalez

Lawrence Kellner

Sandy Kress

Susan Lewis

Raymund Paredes

Thomas Randle

Robert Scott

David Splitek

Ron Steinhart


Senator Tommy Williams

Representative Diane Patrick




Senator Shapiro called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted: 


The Select Committee members met to discuss issues related to the public school accountability system. No public testimony was taken.


Senator Shapiro and Representative Eissler, as Co-Chairs, shared presiding duties throughout the hearing.


Senator Shapiro made opening remarks to the committee.


At 10:45 a.m. Representative Eissler assumed the chair.


At 10:58 a.m. Senator Shapiro resumed the chair.


At 11:20 a.m. Criss Cloudt, Associate Commissioner-Texas Education Agency, was recognized to testify before the committee as a resource witness.


There being no further business, at 12:30 p.m. Senator Shapiro moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered. 







Senator Florence Shapiro, Co-Chair




Representative Rob Eissler, Co-Chair




Holly Mabry, Clerk