Wednesday, May 14, 2008

11:00 a.m.

Erik Jonsson Public Library, 1st Floor Auditorium

Dallas, Texas






Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule 11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on State Water Funding was held on Wednesday, May 14, 2008, in the Erik Jonsson Public Library, 1st Floor Auditorium, Dallas, Texas.







Senator Kip Averitt

Senator Kevin Eltife

Representative Mike Hamilton

Representative Brandon Creighton

Representative Dan Gattis

Representative Will Hartnett


Senator Robert Duncan

Senator Juan Hinojosa




The chair called the meeting to order at 11:08 a.m.  There being a quorum present, the following business was transacted: 


Chairman Averitt offered opening remarks.

Chairman Hamilton offered opening remarks.


Chairman Averitt moved that the committee rules be adopted; without objection, the rules were adopted.


The following witnesses testified before the committee:

Kevin Ward, Executive Administrator, Texas Water Development Board

Carolyn Brittin, Deputy Executive Administrator, Water Planning and Information Resources, Texas Water Development Board


Michael Bartolotta, Vice Chairman, First Southwest Company


Mark Vickery, Deputy Executive Director, Texas Commission on Environmental Quality


Testifying as a panel:

Jody Puckett, Water Utilities Director, Dallas Water Utilities

Jim Parks, General Manager, North Texas Municipal Water District

Jim Oliver, General Manager, Tarrant Regional Water District

Chairman Averitt opened public testimony, the following witnesses testified before the committee:

Carol Batterton, Executive Director, Water Environment Association of Texas


There being no further business, Senator Averitt moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered. 







Senator Kip Averitt, Co-Chair




Representative Mike Hamilton, Co-Chair




Teddy Carter, Clerk