Senate Amendments Section-by-Section Analysis

HOUSE VERSION SENATE VERSION CONFERENCE

SECTION 1. Section 44.001, Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

Sec. 44.001. ELECTION. The voters of each of the following counties elect a criminal district attorney: Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, Fannin, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum.

Same as House version.

SECTION 2. Subchapter B, Chapter 44, Government Code, is amended by adding Section 44.174 to read as follows:

Sec. 44.174. FANNIN COUNTY. (a) The criminal district attorney shall attend each term and session of the district courts in Fannin County and each term and session of the inferior courts of the county held for the transaction of criminal business and shall exclusively represent the state in all criminal matters before those courts.

- (b) The criminal district attorney shall perform the duties conferred by law on county and district attorneys in the various counties and districts.
- (c) The criminal district attorney shall collect the fees, commissions, and perquisites that are provided by law

Same as House version.

Senate Amendments Section-by-Section Analysis

HOUSE VERSION SENATE VERSION CONFERENCE

for similar services rendered by a district or county attorney.

(d) The criminal district attorney is entitled to receive in equal monthly installments compensation from the state equal to the amount paid by the state to district attorneys. The state compensation shall be paid by the comptroller as appropriated by the legislature.

SECTION 3. Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state prosecutors:

- (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts;
- (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, <u>Fannin</u>, Galveston, Grayson, Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto,

No equivalent provision.

80R20162 ELB-INF 2 Associated Draft:

Senate Amendments Section-by-Section Analysis

SENATE VERSION

HOUSE VERSION

CONFERENCE

Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, [Fannin,] Freestone, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and Willacy.

SECTION 4. Effective January 1, 2009, Section 46.002, Government Code, is amended to read as follows:

Sec. 46.002. PROSECUTORS SUBJECT TO CHAPTER. This chapter applies to all county prosecutors and to the following state prosecutors:

- (1) the district attorneys for the 1st, 2nd, 8th, 9th, 12th, 18th, 21st, 23rd, 25th, 26th, 27th, 29th, 31st, 32nd, 33rd, 34th, 35th, 36th, 38th, 42nd, 43rd, 47th, 49th, 50th, 51st, 52nd, 53rd, 63rd, 64th, 66th, 69th, 70th, 76th, 81st, 83rd, 84th, 85th, 88th, 90th, 97th, 100th, 105th, 106th, 110th, 112th, 118th, 119th, 123rd, 142nd, 145th, 156th, 159th, 173rd, 196th, 198th, 216th, 220th, 229th, 235th, 253rd, 258th, 259th, 266th, 268th, 271st, 278th, 286th, 329th, 344th, 349th, and 355th judicial districts;
- (2) the criminal district attorneys for the counties of Anderson, Austin, Bastrop, Bexar, Bowie, Brazoria, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cass, Collin, Comal, Dallas, Deaf Smith, Denton, Eastland, <u>Fannin</u>, Galveston, Grayson,

Same as House version.

Senate Amendments Section-by-Section Analysis

HOUSE VERSION

Gregg, Harrison, Hays, Hidalgo, Jasper, Jefferson, Kaufman, Lubbock, McLennan, Madison, Navarro, Newton, Panola, Polk, Randall, Rockwall, San Jacinto, Smith, Tarrant, Taylor, Tyler, Upshur, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Wichita, Wood, and Yoakum; and

(3) the county attorneys performing the duties of district attorneys in the counties of Andrews, Callahan, Cameron, Castro, Colorado, Crosby, Ellis, Falls, [Fannin,] Freestone, Lamar, Lamb, Lampasas, Lee, Limestone, Marion, Milam, Morris, Ochiltree, Orange, Rains, Red River, Robertson, Rusk, Terry, Webb, and Willacy.

SECTION 5. The office of county attorney of Fannin County is abolished.

No equivalent provision.

SENATE VERSION

SECTION 5. The office of county attorney of Fannin County is abolished on January 1, 2009.

SECTION __. Notwithstanding Section 41.010, Government Code, the initial vacancy in the office of criminal district attorney of Fannin County on creation of the office shall be filled by election. The office of criminal district attorney of Fannin County exists only for the purposes of the primary and general elections in 2008. The qualified voters of the county shall elect the initial criminal district attorney of Fannin County at the general election in 2008 for a four-year term beginning January 1, 2009. Thereafter, the criminal district attorney of Fannin County shall be elected for a four-

CONFERENCE

Senate Amendments Section-by-Section Analysis

HOUSE VERSION SENATE VERSION CONFERENCE

year term as provided by Section 30, Article V, Texas Constitution. A vacancy after the initial vacancy is filled as provided by Section 12, Article IV, Texas Constitution.

SECTION 6. This Act takes effect September 1, 2007. SECTION __. This Act takes effect January 1, 2008.