H.R. No. 68
         WHEREAS, Texas has a rich tradition of producing great
  musical artists . . . as well as musicians who are perhaps less
  great, but who try really hard; and
         WHEREAS, The Bad Precedents is a group of singers and
  instrumentalists linked by the common thread of service to the
  State of Texas; and
         WHEREAS, The performance of live music by the Bad Precedents
  during the 81st Texas Legislature has served as a means of drawing
  together the members of the legislature, raising funds for
  worthwhile local charities, and bringing joy to countless
  listeners, fans, and dancers; and
         WHEREAS, Primary members of this beloved ensemble are Senator
  Bob Deuell on drums and credibility, Representative Jim Dunnam on
  keyboard, Representative Larry Taylor, the band's business and
  transportation manager, Representative Lon Burnam, who serves as
  dancer and spiritual leader, Jeff Rotkoff on rhythm guitar, Michael
  Garemko on lead guitar, Ross Peavey on bass, Tommy Tynes on lead
  vocals, Andy Cates on drums, Zac Evans on vocals, Noah Beaudette on
  bass, and Roger Garza, who acts as road manager; and
         WHEREAS, The musical mission of the Bad Precedents is
  furthered by emeritus members Vernon Effenberger and Kelly Fine as
  well as a stellar lineup of special guests: Representative Mike
  Villarreal playing cowbell, Representative Richard Pena Raymond
  with his Elvis-like vocals, Representative Mike "Tuffy" Hamilton
  standing with incredible rhythm on the right side of Representative
  Dunnam's keyboard, Representative Marc Veasey on Word-Up vocals,
  Representative Joe Pickett on drums, Representative Norma Chavez,
  who will survive, Hugh Brady, who won't stop believin',
  Representative Donna Howard on the iPod, Paul Brown on vocals,
  saxophone, and genuine musicianship, Karen Brooks on guitar and
  vocals, and Lauren Dunnam, Mason Dunnam, Rachel Dunnam, Jon
  English, Sandie Haverlah, and Steve Sheffield; and
         WHEREAS, No band can function properly without quality
  roadies and support personnel, and the Bad Precedents are well
  served by Russell Devorsky, Clinton Knorpp, Jenny Casey, official
  sergeant roadies Cricket Day and Mark Chilivetis, and others; and
         WHEREAS, The Bad Precedents and all of their special guests
  and crew have proven that music has the power to attract individuals
  of all backgrounds and political affiliations and to unite them as
  one people under a groove, and they are indeed deserving of special
  thanks for their valiant service on the bandstand; now, therefore,
  be it
         RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 81st Texas
  Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby recognize the Bad
  Precedents as the official band of the Regular and 1st Called
  Sessions of the 81st Texas Legislature and encourage the group to
  keep on rocking in the free world; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
  prepared for each member of the Bad Precedents and each of their
  special guests and crew as an expression of high regard by the Texas
  House of Representatives.
  Speaker of the House     
         I certify that H.R. No. 68 was adopted by the House on July 2,
  2009, by a non-record vote.
  Chief Clerk of the House