WHEREAS, It is a pleasure for the Texas Senate to pay
  tribute to one of its most respected and beloved longtime staff
  members, Mike Campbell, who is retiring as the director of the
  Support Services Department; and
         WHEREAS, Mike is retiring June 30 after 17 years and five
  months of outstanding service with the Senate; prior to joining
  the Senate in 1992, he worked in the Office of the Comptroller of
  Public Accounts for over 10 years; he has a total state service
  record of 28 years and four months; and
         WHEREAS, As director of Senate Support Services, Mike has
  faced the daunting challenges of his position with equanimity and
  dedication; he has also managed to keep his enthusiasm for his
  work and his good humor intact while handling the multiple and
  wide-ranging responsibilities required of him; and
         WHEREAS, The Support Services Department provides
  facilities management, telecommunications services, furniture,
  keys, engraving services, and payroll distribution to Senate
  offices; it serves as the liaison with the State Preservation
  Board and the Texas Facilities Commission for services that range
  from picture hanging to painting, plumbing, and electrical work
  to air conditioning, heating, and lighting; and
         WHEREAS, An exemplary administrator who is known for his
  professionalism and attention to detail, Mike has both the
  admiration and affection of those who work for him, and he has
  made innumerable friends throughout the Capitol complex and in
  Senate district offices; and
         WHEREAS, Due to Mike's expertise and effective management,
  he has the enduring respect of all associated with the Senate,
  and his personable nature and sense of humor have made him a
  favorite among staff members and legislators; a treasured Senate
  employee, he will be greatly missed by all who have had the
  privilege of knowing and working with him; now, therefore, be it
         RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 81st
  Legislature, 1st Called Session, hereby commend Mike Campbell on
  his invaluable service to the Senate and his exceptional
  leadership as director of the Support Services Department and
  extend to him best wishes for the future; and, be it further
         RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
  him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.
Averitt Harris Seliger
Carona Hegar Shapiro
Davis Hinojosa Shapleigh
Deuell Huffman Uresti
Duncan Jackson Van de Putte
Ellis Lucio Wentworth
Eltife Nelson West
Estes Nichols Whitmire
Fraser Ogden Williams
Gallegos Patrick Zaffirini
  Dewhurst, President of the Senate
        President of the Senate
        I hereby certify that the
    above Resolution was adopted by
    the Senate on July 2, 2009.
        Secretary of the Senate
         Member, Texas Senate